Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    YouR De$i RaPPeR
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Spain BCN (Barcelona)


    Default The Indian Television Academy Awards, 2009

    Follow us on Social Media

    The Indian Television Academy Awards, 2009

    On the 1st of December, The ITA held its prestigious The Indian Television Academy Awards, ’09 at Bhavan’s Cultural Ground in Andheri. Now in the 9th year of a highly celebrated existence, these Awards, today, are the most coveted stamp of excellence in Television, wherein the entire TV-fraternity participates to make it the annual festival of joy in the world of Television.

    This year, the entries from the industry into the various categories touched a historic 2,500 plus that were put under the scanner by a 2-tier Jury, comprising highly distinguished professionals in the genre and headed by the inimitable Aroona Irani. True to its reputation and its tradition, the Event turned out to be highest-voltage spectacle of Television in the country. The pomp and splendour of the evening once again totally justified its being regarded as the biggest night of the small screen.

    The evening presented the biggest bouquet of stars as performers.
    Among the sizzlers were the two heartthrobs of viewers from Pavitra Rishta, Ankita and Sushant, who swung into hip-hop on such rocking numbers as ‘Kambakht Ishq…’, the ‘Blue’ title song and the lilting ‘Gainda Phool’ from ‘Delhi-6’.

    Then, there were the darling jodis of Vikrant & Vibha from Balika Vadhu and Aditi & Harshad Chopra from Kis Desh Mein Hai Mera Dil to take you on a romp of ‘Love Through The Ages!’ From Romeo & Juliet to today’s screen sizzlers in ‘Ajab Prem Ki Ghazb Kahani’, Ranbir & Katrina – this dishy act virtually swept all present off their feet through numbers like, ‘Apni Toh Naiyya…’, ‘Tera Hone Laga Hoon…’, ‘Teri Ore…’ and ‘Dekho Chaand Aaya…’!

    But it was not all about the current rages only!
    There was great nostalgia also lined up. Shaleen & Daljeet (winners, Nach Baliye-4) nimble-footed the feverish pace of ‘Arre Jaa Re Hat Natkhat…’ from ‘Navrang’, the pulse-pounding rhythm of ‘Sar Pe Topi Laal…’ from ‘Tumsa Nahin Dekha’ and the ‘Howrah Bridge’ hungama, ‘Mera Naam Chin Chin Choo…’! And then, the Rajesh-Sharmila spell of ‘Roop Tera Mastana…’ in ‘Aradhana’ was re-cast on viewers by the electric twosome!

    Another highlight was the fusion segment which had Parul & Kinshuk (Bidaai) and Roshni Desai & Nandish (Uttaran) breaking into old style choreography on the hep numbers of today, like Dhan Tannah done in Shammi Kapoor style, ‘Man Ko Abhi Bhaavey Saiyyan…’ in Rajesh Khanna mould and so on.

    Another special, special attraction was the recall of the Fab-4, Salman, Alisha, Siddesh and Jai from Dance India Dance to present a tapestry of regional hits like ‘Dhaga La Lagli Kad...’ (Marathi) ‘Chandralekha…’ (Tamil), ‘Usne Bola Kem Chhe…’ (Gujrati).

    Besdes that, the Academy conferred The ITA Scroll of Honour (Television), 2009 upon Sony-Sab for introducing a first-ever concept of a channel dedicated entirely to comedy. Its premise of ‘Only smiles-no tears’ is well and truly unique and the Academy is the first to accord due recognition to it.

    The major highlight of the evening was conferring The ITA Scroll of Honour, (Entertainment), 2009 that was bestowed upon the team of the year’s biggest bonanza, ‘Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani’.

    Says Anu Ranjan, (President, The ITA), ‘When we see the way our peers in the TV-Industry are standing with and by us, we feel well & truly humbled. It’s not the contest that matters here, it’s not even about the trophies, it’s about being there, about participating… and that’s what is uppermost! It’s not a mere Awards ceremony of some winners and losers – it’s a festival… a festival of joy for the entire TV-fraternity. It’s not us – it’s they who have done it… and it’s they who matter!’

    Shashi Ranjan, (Convenor, The ITA), takes it further, ‘Today, when I look back on that day in 2001, when we lit the inaugural lamp of The ITA Awards, I feel euphoric that the little light has turned into sunshine for the TV-fraternity and year after year since then, they all have been gathering under one canopy to celebrate the glory of Indian Television!’

    Finally, the fire-works exploded, virtually lighting up the sky and the confetti filled the air as the TV-fraternity stood on that humongous set, asserting for the 9th time that The ITA and its Awards are the biggest and the only platform for them to come together as a united force.

    The Ceremony was attended by the who’s who of the TV Industry, like… Baldev Khosa, Ramesh Sippy, Madhur Bhandarkar, David Dhawan, Anurag Basu, Amrita Rao, Satish Kaushik, Gulshan Grover, Satish Shah, Shekhar Suman, Vipul Shah, Roomi Jafri, Aarti Chhabria, Roshni Chopra, Jagmohan Mundhra, Raza Murad, Roop & Sonali Rathod, Alka Yagnik, Mohit Chauhan, Suchitra Krishnamurthy, Bikram Saluja, Rohit Roy, Ravi Kissen, Shirish Kunder, Sanjeev Kapoor, Dipti Bhatnagar, Kiran Shantaram, Sharad Kelkar, Shaad Randhawa, Shama Sikandar, Javed Jafri, Mohan Bhandari, Govind Namdev, Divya Dutta, Rahul Mahajan, Sudhanshu Pandey, Shweta Salve, Roshan Taneja, Delnaz & Rajiv Paul, Payal Rohtagi… to name a few.



    .~*\ .............~**~...~*\../`*~. ~**~-,
    .\.....\¸,.~*\/.... /\.....\... ..V...../ ...(_)...\
    ..\............ .\.....\/..../. \........ ./\......¸,.~*
    ....\¸,.~*´ ¨..`.-.,¸¸,.-`..\,¸ ¸,./.....\..,¸¸,`.\

  2. #2
    Kal Ho Na Ho
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    India & Cambodia



    Thank You For Sharing With Us.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts