Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default RCB retain Kohli; Pietersen and Kumble released

    Follow us on Social Media

    Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Wednesday announced that they would retain only India's middle-order batsman Virat Kohli for another two years, in the Indian Premier League .

    Bangalore, who finished runners-up in 2009, also decided that they would not be retaining the services of India's legendary duo -- Anil Kumble and Rahul Dravid . Robin Uthappa was also a surprise exclusion despite his consistent performances for the Bangalore-based team in the Twenty20 tournament.

    England's dashing batsman Kevin Pietersen and Ross Taylor also didn't find favour with the franchise, owned by Vijay Mallya

    Each team is allowed to retain upto four players, out of which three must be Indians.

    The first player retained will cost a team $1.8 million, regardless of the amount the player is actually paid. The second player will cost $1.3 million, the third $900,000 and the fourth $500,000.

    Virat KohliEarlier, Mumbai Indians (MI) informed the IPL that they are retaining four players Sachin Tendulkar , Harbhajan Singh , West Indian Kieron Pollard and Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga for the next two seasons.

    Meanwhile, Rajasthan Royals decided to retain captain Shane Warne and all-rounder Shane Watson , it was reported.

    It has also been reported that the Kolkata Knight Riders have retained Chris Gayle , while Delhi Daredevils have so far confirmed that they would only be keeping Virender Sehwag , while making the surprising decision to release Gautam Gambhir .
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts