Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default Indian Premier League 2011: IPL 4 to have eight teams

    Follow us on Social Media

    The BCCI has said that the fourth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will have four teams irrespective of whether or not the franchise of Kochi is able to settle their differences.

    The fourth edition of the tournament was expected to have ten teams after the IPL teams of Kochi and Pune were added to the existing set of eight. However, Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals were barred from participating for the next tournament.
    Kochi are also involved in an internal squabble due to which it has been said that they could become the third team to be barred. This will mean that the Indian Premier League will be left with only seven teams.
    However, the BCCI has said that even if the IPL Kochi were to get banned, they will look to have a fresh auction for the eighth team and ensure that there are eight of them in the competition. The reason for this is that the broadcast deal is based on the number of games that get played in the tournament and lesser the teams, lesser is the revenue for all the teams.
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts