Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default India Squad for the Test Series in Sri Lanka 2010

    Follow us on Social Media

    Indian selectors have announced 16-member India squad for the upcoming test series against Sri Lanka. Notable inclusions are Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma and Sreesanth. India will play three test matches in the series starting from 18 July 2010.

    Yuvraj Singh, who was dropped for the Asia Cup, has earned a recall to the test line up. He was also rested for the Zimbabwe tour preceding Asia Cup due to his fitness concern. The left hander has been going through a bad patch for sometime now. So, the test series is a big opportunity for him to impress the selectors and regain his place in the limited overs team.

    Suresh Raina has been awarded with a test call up following his consistent form over the last few limited overs tournaments. He got a hundred in the T20 World Cup in the Caribbean, and after that he may not have played any big innings, but his form was consistent enough to impress the selectors. Now, there is a huge possibility he could earn his test debut during the series against Sri Lanka.

    Despite being in good form recently, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli could not make their way into the test squad. Specially, Rohit Sharma, after two centuries in the Zimbabwe tour, was one of the strongest candidates for a place in the test squad.

    Virender Sehwag retained his place, despite his recent injury which forced him out of the Asia Cup just after 2 matches. Besides Gambhir and Sehwag, Tamil Nadu batsman Murali Vijay is the third specialist opener named in the squad. Veteran batsmen Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman have kept their places, while wicketkeeper batsmen Dhoni would lead the side. The Indian captain has been in superb form recently as it would be proven by his last 7 test scores: 132*, 25, 6, 89, 100*, 4 and 110.

    Surprisingly Indian selectors named only 3 pacers in the squad. What is more surprising is that Ishant Sharma and Sreesanth have been recalled to the test squad, even though they did not have any impressive performance in the recent past. In fact, they did not have enough opportunity to prove their form and fitness. It is a matter of serious question that how two pacers with lack of match practice can be picked up for an important series like this one.

    There is no doubt, Ashok Dinda and Vinay Kumar were not impressive enough to give a thought for the test squad, but Praveen Kumar, who has been pretty much consistent over the last few tournaments, could have been awarded a place in the test squad. More importantly, Ashish Nehra with his experience and recent fine form should have been recalled for the test series.

    There are many who may criticize the selectors for the selection of Wriddhiman Saha as the back up for wicketkeeper MS Dhoni. It is true that he could not capitalize on his test debut against South Africa in Nagpur in February this year. However, the performance of one or two matches can not be enough to judge someone’s class and talent. In fact, Saha has been in excellent form recently for West Bengal in domestic cricket.

    Led by Harbhajan Singh, India’s spin attack features Amit Mishra and Pragyan Ojha. India lost their last test series in Sri Lanka by 2-1 in 2008. However, Sri Lanka lost a 3-match test series by 2-0 in India last year.

    Here is the Indian squad named for the Sri Lanka test series 2010:


    Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, MS Dhoni (WK), Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay, Wriddhiman Saha (WK)


    Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Sreesanth


    Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Amit Mishra

    All Rounders

    There is no all rounder in the squad
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts