Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default Gambhir, Zaheer in IPL auction pool

    Follow us on Social Media

    Stalwarts Anil Kumble , Rahul Dravid , VVS Laxman and Sourav Ganguly , as well as in-form opener Gautam Gambhir , were not retained by their franchises for 2011 and 2012 Indian Premier League (IPL) seasons and will go into the players' auction pool to be bought by interested teams.

    Kumble, who led Royal Challengers Bangalore in the last two seasons of the Twenty20 League, and Dravid have been set free for the January 8-9 auction by RCB who have kept only Virat Kohli , on the strength of his stupendous form for India in the ongoing One-Day International series against New Zealand .

    With the deadline for player retention ending today, former India captain and Bengal icon Ganguly was also not retained by under-performing Shah Rukh Khan-owned Kokata Knight Riders. Only swashbuckling West Indian opener Chris Gayle has found favour with KKR's owners, according to informed sources.

    Deccan Chargers , who won the IPL in 2009, also decided against retaining any of their players including captain Adam Gilchrist , veterans Laxman, Herschelle Gibbs and youngster Rohit Sharma .

    Gautam GambhirThe surprise decision is that of Delhi Daredevils not retaining Gambhir, who scored back-to-back ODI hundreds against the Kiwis, and continue his partnership with Virender Sehwag who is the lone player to be retained by the two-time semi-finalists. Ace spinner Daniel Vettori. Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan and South African AB de Villiers also didn't find favour with Delhi.
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts