Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default Gambhir, Ishant return to squad; no place for Yuvraj again

    Follow us on Social Media


    Chennai: Left handed opener Gautam Gambhir and paceman Ishant Sharma returned after injury lay-offs as the national selectors today announced a full strength 15-member Test squad for next month's series against New Zealand.

    Gambhir and Ishant, who had to sit out of the second and final Test against Australia at Bangalore because of injury,
    have recovered sufficiently to be named in the squad, which has no new faces.

    While upcoming batsman Cheteshwar Pujara has been retained, two other youngsters Abhinav Mukund and Jaidev
    Unadkat have been left out of the team announced by the BCCI after a meeting of the selection committee here.

    Out-of-form Yuvraj Singh again failed to find favour in the Test squad, with the selectors opting for Suresh Raina and
    Pujara as the middle-order batsmen, both of whom have done reasonably well when provided with the opportunity.

    The team, to be captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, has three fast bowlers in Zaheer Khan, S Sreesanth and Ishant and
    three specialist spinners comprising Harbhajan Singh, Amit Mishra and Pragyan Ojha.

    The Test series will be followed by five one-day series -- Guwahati (Nov 28), Jaipur (Dec 1), Vadodara (Dec 4),
    Bangalore (Dec 7) and Chennai (Dec 10).

    Test squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Murali Vijay, Rahul
    Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Suresh Raina, Cheteshwar Pujara, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, S
    Sreesanth, Pragyan Ojha and Amit Mishra

    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts