Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010


    Default BCCI discards presidential rotation system

    Follow us on Social Media


    The Indian board has done away with the zonal rotation system for electing its president, and also allowed its office bearers longer terms, PTI has reported. The decisions were made during a special general meeting in Chennai and will pave the way for senior officials to move into or occupy key BCCI positions.

    At present, apart from the five vice-presidents, all office bearers were restricted to a single term of three years, but they will now be eligible for a second three-year term.

    The change to the election process of the president was originally mooted by former BCCI president Shashank Manohar to the board members informally. But in the working committee meeting last month, current BCCI president N Srinivasan put it forward formally for discussion.

    According to the present rule, the person who is nominated for the president's post should have attended at least two AGMs as a representative from the same zone. This rule has been relaxed, meaning that East Zone, whose turn it is to nominate a president when Srinivasan steps down in 2014, can propose a candidate from any other zone, if two of East Zone's state associations support that candidate.

    The change is seen as a move to allow Arun Jaitley, the vice-president from North Zone, to take over as president in 2014. Under the current system, North Zone would have had a chance to nominate a president only in 2017.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts