Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010


    Default NDTV Indian of the Year Awards

    Follow us on Social Media

    The NDTV Indian of the Year Awards are held annually to recognise Indians whose contribution to the country have strengthened the foundation of our society and helped build Brand India.

    NDTV today announced the winners of their seventh edition of 'Indian of the Year Awards’ at a grand ceremony held at the Taj Palace Hotel in New Delhi.

    The seventh edition of the awards was marked by a set of interesting panel discussions over key issues: Public Service, Elections and Business.
    The panelist for the Public Service session included Aamir Khan, Aruna Roy (social activist) and S. Y. Quraishi, former Chief Election Commissioner of India while the panelist for the Business session saw business czars Rahul Bajaj, Chairman of the Indian conglomerate Bajaj Group and a Member of Parliament, Rajiv Bajaj, Managing Director of Bajaj Auto, Shiv Nadar, Founder and Chairman of HCL and the Shiv Nadar Foundation and RoshniNadar, Executive Director and the CEO of HCL Corporation.

    The third and final session was the award for the Indian of The Year, presented by Prannoy Roy to the Election Commission of India;represented by 7 former Chief Election Commissioners of India. The discussion with SY Quraishi, MS Gill, BB Tandon, JM Lyngdoh, Naveen Chawla, TS Krisha Murthy and N Gopalaswami was moderated by BarkhaDutt.

    Also present at the ceremony were LathaRajnikanth; Soundarya R Ashwin; RanbirKapoor; DeepikaPadukone; Kangana Ranaut among other well known personalities from all walks of life.

    The eminent awardees were:
    1. Award for Public Service – PRS Legislative Research & Association for Democratic Reform
    2. Business Leader of the year – Rajeev Bajaj
    3. Young Philanthropist of the year – RoshniNadar
    4. LIC Unsung Hero – Laxmi
    5. Entertainer of the year – DeepikaPadukone
    6. Actor of the year – KanganaRanaut
    7. Bollywood youth Icon – RanbirKapoor
    8. Technical Innovation in Film – Soundarya R. Ashwin
    9. Sportspersons of the year – P V Sindhu
    10. Lifetime Achievement Award (Entertainment) – Amjad Ali Khan
    11. Lifetime Achievement Award (Arts): SatishGujral
    12. INDIAN OF THE YEAR - The Election Commission represented by 7 former Chief Election Commissioners of India.

    The evening ended with a special memento being presented by the Chairman of LIC, SK Roy to Aamir Khan.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts