Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1

    Default ‘Anna Karenina,’ ‘Life of Pi,’ and ‘Skyfall’ win Art Directors Guild Awards

    Follow us on Social Media

    The Art Directors Guild (ADG) tonight announced winners of its 17th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards Presented by BMW in nine categories of film, television, commercials and music videos during black-tie ceremonies at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills. The awards took place before an audience of more than 700, including guild members, industry executives, and press. ADG Council Chair John Shaffner presided over the awards ceremony with Paula Poundstone serving as host for the fourth consecutive year. Due to an illness, Production Designer Herman Zimmerman was an absentee recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award Presented by BMW.

    Hall of Fame inductees were Preston Ames, Richard MacDonald, and Edward Stephenson. The Production Designers behind the JAMES BOND franchise, including Sir Ken Adam, Peter Lamont, Allan Cameron and Dennis Gassner were honored for Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery. The 17th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards were produced by Greg Grande and Raf Lydon.

    Presenters for this year’s awards included Levar Burton (Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Reading Rainbow), Joelle Carter (Justified), Francesca Eastwood (Big Morning Buzz Live, Miss Golden Globe® – 2013), Walton Goggins (Lincoln, Django Unchained, Justified), Dennis Haysbert (Allstate® Commercials, 24), Georgia King (The New Normal), Jonathan C. McGinley (Scrubs, the upcoming 42), Jane Seymour (To Live and Let Die, Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman, Smallville), Julie White (Lincoln, Transformers), and Alfre Woodard (True Blood, Memphis Beat).

    ADG awards recognition always goes to the Production Designer, Art Director, Assistant Art Director and their team for each nominated and winning project.


    Period Film

    Production Designer: Sarah Greenwood

    Fantasy Film

    Production Designer: David Gropman

    Contemporary Film

    Production Designer: Dennis Gassner


    One-Hour Single Camera Television Series

    GAME OF THRONES, Episode: The Ghost of Harrenhal
    Production Designer: Gemma Jackson

    Television Movie or Mini-Series

    AMERICAN HORROR STORY: ASYLUM, Episode: I Am Anne Frank, Part 2
    Production Designer: Mark Worthington

    Episode of a Half-Hour Single Camera Television Series

    GIRLS, Episode: Pilot
    Production Designer: Judy Becker

    Episode of a Multi-Camera, Variety, or Unscripted Series

    SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE, Episode: Mick Jagger Host
    Production Designers: Keith Raywood, Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, N. Joseph DeTullio

    Awards, Music, or Game Shows

    Production Designer: John Myhre

    Commercial, PSA, Promo, and Music Video

    X-BOX, Episode: Halo 4 Commissioning
    Production Designer: Christopher Glass

    Sponsors for the 17th Annual ADG Awards include: Exclusive Title and Lifetime Achievement sponsor BMW. The Platinum sponsors are EON Productions & Danjaq LLC, and DreamWorks Pictures. The Gold sponsors are 20th Century Fox & Fox Searchlight Pictures, and Fox Studios Production Services. Silver sponsors are Astek Inc./On Air Design, FX Network, The Golden Oak Ranch, HBO, IATSE Local 33, J.C. Backings Corporation, Montana Artists Agency, Inc., Paramount Pictures, United Talent Agency, Warner Bros. Studio Facilities, and WME. Media sponsors are The Hollywood Reporter, SHOOT, and Variety. Tarin Wilson of plan A events is the event planner for this year’s ADG Awards.

    ADG Awards are open only to productions, when made within the U.S., by producers signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions.

    About the Art Directors Guild:
    The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents nearly 2,000 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, and Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; and Set Designers and Model Makers. Established in 1937, ADG’s ongoing activities include a Film Society; an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (5D: The Future of Immersive Design) and Membership Directory; a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, creative workshops and craft and art exhibitions. The Guild’s Online Directory/Website Resource is at Art Directors Guild: Art Director, Graphic Artist, Illustrator, Matte Artist, Model Maker, Digital Artist, Scenic Artist, Set Designer, Title Artist[/url]. Follow ADG on Twitter: @ADG800.

    Follow Hollywood News on Twitter for up-to-date news information.

    Hollywood News, Hollywood Awards, Awards, Movies, News, Award News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News

    Tags: ADG Excellence in Production Design Award, art director, Art Directors Guild, Arts, Bayerische Motoren Werke AG, Cinema of the United States, costume designers guild, Entertainment, Entertainment/Culture, Film crew, Herman F. Zimmerman, Human Interest, International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Keith Raywood, Production designer, the Art Directors Guild

    It's Clobberin Time



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts