Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default Government announces Padma Awards

    Follow us on Social Media

    The President of India has approved the conferment of Padma Awards for the year 2010. This year, the President has approved 128 awards including one duo case (counted as one) and 12 in the category of Foreigners/ NRIs/ PIOs/ Posthumous.

    These comprise 13 Padma Vibhushan, 31 Padma Bhushan and 84 Padma Shri Awards. There are 31 ladies among the awardees

    Brajesh Mishra

    Padma Vibhushan for Civil Services

    Brajesh Mishra, a former Indian Foreign Service officer, was the country's first National Security Advisor under former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

    Mishra's father, the late Dwarka Prasad Mishra was a staunch politician from the Congress Party and very close to Indira Gandhi.

    He was the first non-IAS principal secretary to the Prime Minister of India. After Brijesh Mishra, the post of principal secretary to the Prime Minister became such a powerful one that it eclipsed the status of cabinet ministers. He has been awarded Padma Vibhushan for his contribution to Civil Services.

    Shyam Saran

    Padma Bhushan for Civil Services

    Shyam Saran is a 1970 batch Indian Foreign Service officer. He served as Indian Ambassador to Nepal, Indian Ambassador to Indonesia and Indian Ambassador to Myanmar, High Commissioner to Mauritius.

    He was an advisor to the Prime Minister specializing in nuclear issues, as well as the Indian envoy on climate change. He quit office on 19th February 2010. He has been awarded Padma Bhushan for his contribution to Civil Services.

    Montek Singh Ahluwalia

    Padma Vibhushan for Public Affairs

    Montek Singh Ahluwalia was appointed Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission on June 16, 2004, by the UPA government and then reappointed by the government on June 5, 2009 by the Prime Minister. Montek is an Oxford-educated economist and has worked closely with Manmohan Singh, when the latter was finance minister in the period 1991-1996. In his illustrious career, Ahluwalia has also served at the IMF and its sister institution the World Bank. Montek Singh Ahluwalia played a major role in crafting reforms which helped integrate India with the world economy

    Azim Premji

    Padma Vibhushan for Trade and Industry

    Azim Premji is Chairman of Wipro Technologies, one of the largest software companies in India. Business Week recognized him as one of the Greatest Entrepreneurs of All Time for his vision and leadership that has been responsible for Wipro emerging as one of the world's fastest growing companies. Premji made news recently by transferring more than Rs. 8,000 crore worth of his shares in Wipro Industries to an education trust named after him. His donation is considered to be the single-largest individual donation towards philanthropic activities. The trust will utilize the endowment to fund various social and not-for-profit initiatives

    handa Kochhar

    Padma Bhushan for Trade and Industry

    Chanda Kochhar is the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of ICICI Bank Limited. She began her career with ICICI as a management trainee in 1984 and has thereon successfully risen through the ranks by handling multidimensional assignments and heading all the major functions in the bank at various points in time. She was ranked 11th by Financial Times in the Top 50 Women in World Business in its 2010 list and has been conferred ‘Banker of the Year' award by Financial Express 2010

    Padma Shri for Art - Cinema

    Kajol is a film actress appearing in Hindi films. She made her acting debut in the film Bekhudi (1992) and had her first commercial success with her second film Baazigar (1993) opposite Shahrukh Khan, with whom she would act in such popular movies as Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge (1995), Kuch Kuch Hota Hai (1998), Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham (2001) and My Name is Khan (2010)

    Irrfan Khan

    Padma Shri for Art - Cinema

    Sahabzade Irrfan Ali Khan is an actor in film, television and theatre. He received recognition for his roles in The Warrior (2001), Maqbool (2003), Haasil (2004), The Namesake (2006), A Mighty Heart (2007), Slumdog Millionaire (2008), Billu (2009), New York (2009), New York, I Love You (2009), and Vodafone commercials. He has won two Filmfare Awards, a Screen Actors Guild Award, and an Independent Spirit Award nomination.

    Mohammed Zahur Khayyam Hashmi

    Padma Bhushan for Art - Cinema - Music

    Mohammed Zahur "Khayyam" Hashmi, better known as Khayyam, is a music composer whose career spanned four decades.

    He has won three Filmfare Awards for Best Music in 1977 for Kabhi Kabhie and 1982 for Umrao Jaan, and a life time achievement award in 2010 .

    He was awarded the 2007 Sangeet Natak Akademi Award in Creative Music, by the Sangeet Natak Akademi, India's National Academy of Music, Dance and Theatre

    Shashi Kapoor

    Padma Bhushan for Art - Cinema

    Shashi Kapoor is an award-winning film actor and producer. He is remembered for many hit Hindi films, including ones he starred in with Amitabh Bachchan, such as Deewar, Do Aur Do Paanch and Namak Halaal. He has also played leading roles in a number of British films, including several Merchant Ivory productions such as Shakespeare-Wallah

    Waheeda Rehman

    Padma Bhushan for Art - Cinema

    Waheeda Rehman is a famous film actress who appears in Bollywood movies, most notably C.I.D. (1956) and Guru Dutt classics such as Pyaasa (1957), Kaagaz Ke Phool (1959) and Sahib Bibi Aur Ghulam (1962)

    Sushil Kumar

    Padma Shri for Sports – Wrestling

    Shushil Kumar is India's ace wrestler who rose to instant stardom by winning a bronze medal in the 2008 Beijing Olympics. Sushil then went on to become the first Indian wrestler to be crowned World Champion and also won the Gold medal during the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts