View Poll Results: Who has been the greatest World Cup player?

6. You may not vote on this poll
  • maradona

    3 50.00%
  • pele

    0 0%
  • Beckenbauer

    0 0%
  • Giuseppe Meazza

    0 0%
  • Gerd Mueller

    0 0%
  • Garrincha

    0 0%
  • Johan Cruyff

    0 0%
  • Ronaldo

    2 33.33%
  • Bobby Moore

    0 0%
  • Ferenc Puskas

    0 0%
  • Others

    1 16.67%
Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Runner Up - Admins Awards
    Join Date
    Dec 2009


    Default Who has been the greatest World Cup player?

    Follow us on Social Media

    10 greatest World Cup players

    Recently, British newspaper The Times has made the ranking list of "The Ten Greatest World Cup Players." The listed soccer geniuses are all legends in the history of FIFA World Cup.
    Among them, The "Hand of God" Diego Maradona ranked first place. Following him are superstar Pele and "Der Kaiser" Franz Beckenbauer.

    Let's retrospect their glorious World Cup journeys.

    No. 1 Diego Maradona (Argentina)

    21 World Cup games, 8 goals

    When he played for Italian Napoli, Maradona led the team to win two Serie A titles and the Uefa Cup. And as the hard core of Argentina, he earned 91 caps, scoring 34 goals, won the World Cup in 1986 and finished a runner-up in 1990, until he was disqualified from games for cocaine abuse in 1994 World Cup in the United States.

    Jorge Valdano, a former Argentina team-mate, said: "He is someone many people want to emulate, a controversial figure, loved, hated, who stirs great upheaval...he has no peers inside the pitch but he has turned his life into a show and is now living a personal ordeal that should not be imitated."

    No. 2 Pele (Brazil)

    14 games, 12 goals

    Edson Arantes do Nascimento, whose nickname is Pele, is definitely a respectful football player. During his whole professional history, he had kicked 1,284 goals from 1,375 matches.

    Pele has set innumerous records. He played for Santos at the age of 15, for Brazil at 16 and won his first World Cup at 17 in 1958. He became the youngest player at 17 years 239 days to score in the finals; ten days later, he became the youngest to play in a final. He goaled twice, in the 5-2 win over Sweden, and helped Brazil claim the title.

    Four World Cups, three gold medals. Pele's had to quit matches for injury in 1962 World Cup, and the lost to Portugal in 1966 ended this Brazilian's involvement, but his "King of Football" crown will endure for ever.

    No. 3: Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany)

    18 games, 5 goals

    Beckenbauer redefined the role of the sweeper, and brought a new concept to the position -- the "libero".

    His honors were quiet sparkling: Two European Player of the Year awards, three European Cups with Bayern; first, second and third places in the World Cup as a player, first and second places in the World Cup as a coach.

    "He was the puppet master, standing back and pulling the strings," an admiring fan observed.

    No. 4 Giuseppe Meazza (Italy)

    9 games, 3 goals

    Meazza amassed 243 goals for Inter Milan in 361 games. For Italy he goaled 33 in 53. He is regarded by many followers of the Azzurri as the greatest Italian player of all time.
    He also led his team to won twice in 1934 and 1938 World Cup finals.

    No. 5 Gerd Mueller (West Germany)

    13 games, 14 goals

    In 1974, at the World Cup in Germany, "Der Bomber" Mueller claimed the winner in the 2-1 success over Holland in the final — a record fourteenth World Cup goal, a total not beaten until 2006, by Ronaldo. Müller has ended his professional career with a splendid climax.

    No. 6 Garrincha (Brazil)[/FONT]

    12 games, 5 goals

    Born with a deformed spine, Garrincha's left leg is 6cm shorter than right leg. However, his physical disability didn't prevent him from becoming regarded as at least the equal of Pelé, his Brazilian compatriot, and the best dribbler in the world.

    No. 7 Johan Cruyff (Holland)

    7 games, 3 goals

    Cruyff won the European Cup three times, with Ajax, in 1971, 1972 and 1973.

    In the 1974 World Cup, he helped Holland gain the first penalty kick in the history of World Cup finals.

    After retiring, he also worked as a successful coach: Barcelona won 11 trophies, including the European Cup in 1992, under his guidance.

    No. 8 Ronaldo (Brazil)

    19 games, 15 goals

    In 1994, 17-year-old Ronaldo attended the World Cup in the United States. Brazil won the championship but Ronaldo didn't have any chance to play on the soccer field during competition.
    In 2002 World Cup, 25-year-old Ronaldo scored 8 goals, and two of them helped Brazil defeat Germany to claim the title.
    In 2006, Ronaldo scored his fifteenth World Cup goal, breaking the record of Gerd Müller, the German legend.

    No. 9 Bobby Moore (England)

    14 games, 0 goals

    At 22, Moore would become England's youngest captain. He led his country in 90 matches and made 108 appearances, a record for an outfield player until it was surpassed by David Beckham.
    "He was the spirit and heartbeat of the team," Alf Ramsey, England's World Cup-winning manager, declared.

    In February 1993, Moore died from bowel cancer. To commemorate this outstanding players, a statue was erected outside the rebuilt Wembley Stadium.

    No.10 Ferenc Puskas (Hungary, Spain)

    6 games, 4 goals (3 games, 4 goals for Hungary; 3 games, 0 goals for Spain)

    Puskas totally scored 83 goals for Hungary in 84 appearances in World Cup matches.

    He re-emerged in 1958 with Real Madrid and was picked for Spain for the 1962 World Cup. It was a pity that Puskas failed to shine in that year.
    Last edited by Caasanova; 06-05-2010 at 10:22 AM.
    ...being a human...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts