Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010


    Default Saeed Mirza, Raghu Menon appointed CBFC members

    Follow us on Social Media

    Veteran filmmaker Saeed Mirza and former secretary of the Information and Broadcasting ministry Raghu Menon have been appointed as new members of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC).

    With these appointments, the Censor Board now has 20 members along with Leela Samson who heads it as its chairperson.

    Mirza is known for memorable films like Albert Pinto Ko Gussa Kyon Ata Hai, Mohan Joshi Hazir Ho! and Salim Langde Pe Mat Ro, apart from helming the popular TV serial Nukkad.

    Menon, an IAS officer of 1974 batch, was Information and Broadcasting Secretary from July 2009 and he retired in 2011. He is also a member of the Film and Television Institute of India (FTII) board.

    A notification of the new appointments have already been issued by the I&B ministry.

    Astonishingly, even with the new appointments, there are slots vacant and some more appointments are expected to be made in the coming days.

    Official sources said that the Censor Board can at the most have 25 members along with a chairperson.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts