Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Thumbs up Cinematographer V.K Murthy chosen for Dada Saheb Phalke Award

    Follow us on Social Media

    [DOWN]Legendary cinematographer V.K. Murthy, best remembered as the cinematographer for all Guru Dutt films, has been chosen for the Dada Saheb Phalke Award for the year 2008.

    This is the first time that a cinematographer has been selected for this award.

    Murthy broke new grounds, ushered in modern and highly sophisticated techniques and brought in rich visual artistry to Indian cinema. He shot India's first cinemascope movie 'Kagaz Ke Phool' (1959) and was the cinematographer for all of Guru Dutt films, an official statement said.

    Murthy has been cinematographer for films 'Ziddi' (1948), 'Baazi' (1951), 'Jaal' (1952), 'Pyasa' (1957) and 'Chaudhvin ka Chand' (1960), among others.

    Born in 1923 and having spent nearly five decades in Mumbai, the ace cinematographer is now based in Bangalore.

    The award will be conferred by President Pratibha Patil but the date is yet to be announced. Along with the award, Murthy will also receive a cash prize of Rs.10 lakh, a Swarna Kamal and a shawl.

    The Dada Saheb Phalke Award is conferred annually by the government for outstanding contributions to films, based on the recommendations of a committee of eminent people.

  2. #2
    Kal Ho Na Ho
    Join Date
    Aug 2008



  3. #3


    you welcome

  4. #4


    gd work yar
    keep it upp
    mai F ko F hee Bolta ho lolzzz



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts